writeafterwork

@knightauthor's place

Gordon’s Gift

Leave a comment

There comes a time in every author’s life when they must decide who they are as a writer. Back in 2008 when I self-published my first book, I didn’t consider myself a ‘self-help’ or even ‘relationship’ author. I was just a journalist acting on a pressing need to get a message to women like me. The goal was merely to save them from my fate as a desperate dater. I was not trying to be an expert. I was not trying to build a platform. I was writing from my heart. Ever since then I have written books on several different subjects; still considered ‘self-help’ but not relationship focused. Up until now  it has been easy to ‘do me’ because I never tried to get a traditional house to publish my books, and thus I have enjoyed writing for writing’s sake rather than trying to corner myself into one genre vs another. But I had a talk with an agent yesterday that made me reconsider my loosey goosey, ambiguous approach to publishing. He basically told me to ‘pick a lane,’ sort of what I always tell drivers to do on the way to work. They drift over to my lane without a turn signal, as if they don’t know what lane they want to be in.  To tell the truth, I had been considering my dilemma for sometime but was not wiling to give myself the kick in the pants I needed to take the next step.

So in light of this impetus, I have come to a decision: I will release my last non-fiction book next year (the sequel to Desperate Dating), then proceed to focus exclusively on my other love, children’s — I am working on a MG novel and a picture book.  I do not have to ‘pick a lane’ in the world of children’s literature, which is refreshing.

So, I am writing this post to say thank you to Gordon for his gift: forcing me to examine my intentions and putting me on a clear path to publication. Gee. I guess agents are good for something, aren’t they?

Leave a Reply

